Wednesday, December 30, 2015

The 43rd International Emmy Awards

2015 I-Emmys Special Directorate Award Recipient Chairman & CEO, Home Box Office Richard Plepler and Presenter, Michael Douglas

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the winners of the 43rd International Emmy Awards on Monday, November 23rd at the New York Hilton. The gala was attended by over 1000 international television professionals and hosted by Egyptian Comedian Bassem Youssef.

French programs led the night with 3 Emmys in the Arts Programming, Drama Series and
TV Movie/Mini-Series categories followed by Brazilian programs with 2 Emmys in the
Comedy and Telenovela categories.

Performances from Norway (Best Performance by an Actress), the Netherlands (Best
Performance by an Actor), and programs from South Africa (Documentary), the United
Kingdom (Non-Scripted Entertainment) and the United States (Non-English US Primetime
Program), each won one Emmy.

Academy Award winning Actor and Producer Michael Douglas presented the International Emmy Directorate Award to Richard Plepler, Chairman & CEO of HBO.

Academy Award and Emmy nominated actress Elizabeth McGovern who currently stars as Lady Cora in Downton Abbey and the show's Emmy and BAFTA Award winning Executive Producer Gareth Neame presented the International Emmy Founders Award to Academy Award & Emmy Award Winner Julian Fellowes, Creator, Writer and Executive Producer of Downton Abbey. 

Congratulations to the 2015 International Emmy award winners!

Drama Series: Engrenages Saison 5
Arts Programming: Illustre & Inconnu: Comment Jacques Jaujard a sauvé le Louvre
Best Performance by an Actor: Maarten Heijmans
Best Performance by an Actress: Anneke von der Lippe
Comedy: Doce de Mãe
Documentary: Miners Shot Down
Non-English Language US Primetime: Arrepentidos - El Infierno de Montoya
Non-Scripted Entertainment: 50 Ways to Kill Your Mammy
Telenova: Império
TV Movie / Mini Series: Soldat Blanc

Here are my interviews with some of this year's presenters, including Michael Cudlitz, Tova Feldshuh and Robin Lord Taylor.

Drama Series Award Winners for "Spiral Season 5 (Engregages Saison 5)"

Presenters Tova Feldshuh and Michael Cudlitz

Presenters Mozhan Marnò and Michael Urie 

Non-English Language Primetime PRogram Award Winners for "Apprendidos - El Infierno de Montoya, including Juana Maria Torres and Samuel Duque Roso

Presenters Leandra Leal and Lourenco Ortigao

Presenter Robin Lord Taylor

Best Documentary Award Winners for "Miners Shot Down"

Presenter Lea Delaria from "Orange is the New Black"

Presenters Holly Taylor and Joel Benoliel

Non-Scripted Entertainment Award Winners for "50 Ways to Kill Your Mammy" - Executive Producer Baz Ashmawy and Actress Nancy Ashmawy

Telenovela Winners for "Empire (Imperio)"

Presenters Karla Mosley and Piolo Pascual

Comedy Award Winners for "Doce de Mãe"and Presenter Anke Engelke

Award Winners for TV Movie/Mini-Series "Soldat Blanc" (White Soldier)

Presenter George Takei

Best Performance by an Actress Award Winner Anneke von der Lippe

It was another great year at the International Emmy Awards! Here are some additional photos that were taken of me with some of the winners and presenters.

- Kim Weling