Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Supima Design Competition 2012

This year's Supima Design Competition was once again hosted by Rachel Zoe and featured two finalists from each of these participating, leading design schools: Fashion Institute of Technology, Pratt Institute, Rhode Island School of Design and Savannah College of Art and Design. 

The competition asked that each of the eight designers create a capsule collection of women's eveningwear, highlighting Supima Cotton and utilizing fabric from Supima's brand partners - AG Adriano Goldschmied, Agave, Brooks Brothers, Kurabo and Splendid. It was interesting to see the innovative designs centered around fine jersey, denim, corduroy and twill fabrics.

The winner and recipient of a $10,000 cash prize is...Kate Wilkoff from Pratt Institute! Her evening gowns were constructed with hand-dyed denim and metallic painted twill. 

Here's a look at some of the designs from all eight designers:

KATE WILKOFF - Pratt Institute

ABIGAIL GLASS - Rhode Island School of Design 

KYLE PEARSON - Fashion Institute of Technology

NATALIA YEPES - Savannah College of Art and Design

JACQUELINE SIEFERT - Rhode Island School of Design

MEREDITH LYON - Pratt Institute

YVONNE LUONG - Fashion Institute of Technology

EDUARDO CALVO - Savannah College of Art and Design

- Kim Weling

No comments:

Post a Comment